Draft delimitation proposal

Like Us:::
Pin Share20

NC MPs to submit dissent note tomorrow 

Srinagar, Dec 30: Three Members of Parliament (MPs) from Kashmir Valley will submit their dissent note over the proposed allocation of Assembly seats in J&K to the delimitation commission on Friday.

Talking to news agency, National Conference Lok Sabha member, Justice (retd.) Hasnain Masoodi said they will file their objections to the proposal tomorrow.

The draft proposal shared by the delimitation commission with MPs from Jammu and Kashmir on December 20 has triggered a massive controversy, as out of seven new seats, six have been allocated to Jammu and only one to Kashmir.

All political parties including National Conference, Peoples Democratic Party and Peoples Conference have opposed the proposal, saying it reeks of bias and partisan approach.

In the meeting, the panel headed by former Supreme Court judge Justice (retd.) Ranjana Desai shared details about the proposed allocation of Assembly seats to various districts in the Union Territory and the number of seats to be reserved for Scheduled Castes and Schedule Tribes.

As already reported, the panel has decided to reserve seven seats for SCs and nine seats for STs in the 90-member Assembly